Home > About Expo > Member Countries
People’s Republic of China
(cneaexpo.org) Updated: 2015-08-19

People’s Republic of China

The People’s Republic of China takes up much of East Asia to the western coast of the Pacific Ocean, covering about 9.6-million square kilometers. It borders 14 countries, and six countries in nearby waters.

It contains four municipal areas under central government administration, 23 provinces, 5 autonomous regions and 2 special administrative regions. The capital is Beijing and the national flag is the five-star red flag.

China has a population of 1.35 billion (2011 census) consisting of 56 ethnic groups. Its main religions are Buddhism, Taoism, Islam, and Christianity.

Its temperate and subtropical zones have a monsoon climate, with small parts of it is in the tropical zone and frigid area. Its topography runs from high in the far west to lower in the east, and it contains mountains, plateaus, basins, plains and hills.

The Qinghai-Tibet Plateau has an average altitude of above 4,000 meters and has long been referred to as the “roof of the world”. China is now an economic global power but still has the enormous development potential, with its people enjoying a fairly good standard of living on average.

In the 21st century, the government has been improving its macroeconomic controls and the economy has maintained steady to rapid growth. In 2011, the GDP was 47.16 trillion yuan ($7.38 trillion), up 9.2 percent from the previous year.

Copyright © 2015 - China-Northeast Asia Expo. All rights reserved.