Home > About Expo > Member Countries
(cneaexpo.org) Updated: 2015-08-19


Japan is an island country on the west coast of the Pacific Ocean, forming an arc from northeast to southwest.

It has China, North Korea, South Korea and Russia to the west and north, across the East China Sea, Yellow Sea, Korea Strait and Japan Sea and has four big islands -- Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku and Kyushu -- as well as more than 6,800 small islands.

It spans an area of 378,000 square kilometers and has the cities of Tokyo, Hokkaido, Kyoto, Osaka and 43 prefectures, with Tokyo as the capital. Its national flag is the Hinomaru, its national anthem the “Kimigayo”, and its national flower the sakura (cherry blossom).

It sits in the temperate zone and has a mild climate and distinct four seasons. It has a population of 128 million (2012 census), whose main religions are Shinto and Buddhism. It has a forest area of 25.12 million hectares or two thirds of the total area, and one of the highest forest coverage rates in the world.

It has many mountains and rivers so it is rich in water resources, and power reserves of about 135.3 billion kWh of electricity per year.

Copyright © 2015 - China-Northeast Asia Expo. All rights reserved.